All the Bright Places (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
All the Bright Places Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


Described by some as The Fault in Our Stars meets Eleanor & Park, All the Bright Places may just be your favorite YA novel of 2015. It's a heart-wrenching love story about the lives of two teenagers from very different backgrounds who meet on the top of their school's bell tower. "To jump or not to jump?" has long been protagonist Theodore Finch's question, as he constantly debates the possibility of his suicide. It had never before been a question for Violet Markey, yet there she is, at the top of of the bell tower, with her toes hanging off the railing and her mind whirling. Follow the story of these two teenagers as they embark on their journey through high school, love, and finding themselves in the world. You're guaranteed to laugh and cry. -- Quinn A.

— From February 2015

Description


"A do not miss for fans of Eleanor and Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe."--Justine Magazine

A New York Times bestseller

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Elle Fanning

A 2016 Zoella Book Club Pick

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it's unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the "natural wonders" of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It's only with Violet that Finch can be himself--a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who's not such a freak after all. And it's only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

"At the heart--a big one--of "All the Bright Places" lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers."
-- New York Times Book Review

..".this heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids named Violet and Finch is worth reading. Niven is a skillful storyteller who never patronizes her characters--or her audience."
-- Entertainment Weekly

About the Author


All the Bright Places is Jennifer Niven's first book for young adult readers, but she has written four novels for adults--American Blonde, Becoming Clementine, Velva Jean Learns to Fly, and Velva Jean Learns to Drive--as well as three nonfiction books--The Ice Master, Ada Blackjack, and The Aqua-Net Diaries, a memoir about her high school experiences. Although she grew up in Indiana, she now lives with her fiance and literary cats in Los Angeles, which remains her favorite place to wander. For more information, visit JenniferNiven.com, GermMagazine.com, or find her on Facebook.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780385755887
ISBN-10: 0385755880
Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 6th, 2015
Pages: 400
Language: English