One Last Word: A Novel (Paperback)

One Last Word: A Novel By Suzanne Park Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
DIESEL, A Bookstore in Brentwood
On hand as of May 28 2:20am
(FICTION)

Description


“With pitch-perfect humor, endearing insights and wonderfully relatable characters, One Last Word is a smart and breezy read about taking hold of the life you want and refusing to let go. An absolute delight.” —Allison Winn Scotch, bestselling author of Take Two, Birdie Maxwell

What would you say to your meddling parents, your ex-best friend, your toxic boss, or your high school crush if you didn’t have to face the consequences?

Sara Chae is the founder of One Last Word, an app that allows you to send a mes­sage to anyone you want after you pass. Safeguards are in place so the app will only send when you’re definitely, absolutely, 100% dead, but when another Sara Chae dies and her obituary is posted online, Sara discovers that drafted messages she had drunkenly uploaded on one night have been released —one each to her emotionally charged mother, to her former best friend who ghosted her, and to her unrequited high school crush, Harry Shim.

 Still reeling from this disaster, Sara finds out she’s been accepted into a venture capital mentorship program— and that the mentor she’s been assigned to is none other than Harry, who’s now a major VC superstar. With her life going from uncertain to chaotic overnight, Sara has to deal with the havoc that ensues and reopen wounds from the past to find a true path forward.

A pitch-perfect homage for fans of Annabel Monaghan, Alisha Rai, and Jenny Han, One Last Word is an empowering, laugh-out-loud story about a woman who learns to speak up and fight for what she wants in life and love.

About the Author


Suzanne Park is a Korean American writer who was born and raised in Tennessee. She is the author of the adult novels The Do-Over, So We Meet Again, and Loathe at First Sight. As a comedienne, she was selected to appear on BET’s Coming to the Stage. Suzanne was also the winner of the Seattle Sierra Mist Comedy Competition and was a semi-finalist in NBC’s Stand Up for Diversity showcase in San Francisco.

Suzanne graduated from Columbia University and received an MBA from UCLA. She currently resides in Los Angeles with her husband, female offspring, and a sneaky rat that creeps around on her back patio. In her spare time, she procrastinates. 

Praise For…


“With Suzanne Park's irresistible humor and lovably relatable characters, One Last Word is a breezy, clever romp through the tech world. I can't count the number of times I laughed out loud!” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of The Ex Talk 

"One Last Word is the best kind of novel: laugh-out-loud funny, bittersweet, and so darn relatable you wonder if the author’s been hanging out inside your head. Suzanne Park has written another absolute winner.” — Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Good for You

"What a pleasure to dive into One Last Word by Suzanne Park, a smart, contemporary and laugh-out-loud novel about taking chances and making amends. With a clever plot twist that leads to deep storylines about love, friendship and family ties, Park draws us in with relatable characters and sharp dialogue. The overall effect is a satisfying tale of a modern woman choosing to live life on her own terms." — Lian Dolan, author of The Sweeney Sisters

"One Last Word is inventive, smart, and funny with s-tier swoon. What more you could you ask for?!" — Trish Doller, international bestselling author of Float Plan

“A jaunty, quick read that’s no less captivating for its ease, Suzanne Park’s One Last Word is the stuff early-aughts rom-coms were made of, updated for a more modern decade...This STEM romance tackles that particular nightmare with Park’s celebrated wit.” — Elle

"Witty lines, touching reconciliation moments, and compelling career and romantic breakthroughs make Park’s (The Do-Over) latest novel a satisfying read. Fans of her previous books will enjoy the well-paced plot and the various personalities in the cast, as well as Sara and Harry’s strong compatibility and chemistry." — Library Journal

"Park has always been good at telling stories about women who find themselves at a nadir in their professional lives, and Sara’s struggles in her industry are deeply relatable...there are plenty of laughs as we follow Sara’s journey toward achieving her biggest career goals. A fresh, modern story about learning to be honest." — Kirkus Reviews

“Some books just feel like an old friend, their first pages embracing you with an instant familiarity and warmth you can’t help but sink into. Suzanne Park’s So We Meet Again is that kind of book...A cinematic, charming heart-squeeze-of-a-book that has found its way to my Ultimate Comfort Reads shelf.” — Emily Henry

"With depth and warmth and wit, The Do-Over is a beautiful, hopeful portrayal of second chances in life and in love. The carefully executed portrayal of anxiety, as well as the wonderfully engrossing love story make this read a pitch perfect read. I absolutely loved every word. Suzanne Park is a hidden gem in the romance world, and The Do-Over is her best book yet." — Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author

"A fantastic, empowering second chance romance that combines wit and charm with an always insightful commentary on imposter syndrome, anxiety, and the challenge of finding ourselves. Suzanne Park wrote a true gem!" — Ali Hazelwood, New York Times bestselling author, on The Do-Over 

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063216099
ISBN-10: 0063216094
Publisher: Avon
Publication Date: April 16th, 2024
Pages: 288
Language: English