Sondheim: Lyrics: Edited by Peter Gethers with Russell Perreault (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets Series) (Hardcover)

Sondheim: Lyrics: Edited by Peter Gethers with Russell Perreault (Everyman's Library Pocket Poets Series) By Stephen Sondheim, Peter Gethers (Editor), Russell Perreault (Editor) Cover Image


A beautiful hardcover selection of the most memorable and beloved lyrics of America’s greatest composer and lyricist, Stephen Sondheim. AN EVERYMAN'S LIBRARY POCKET POET.

Legendary composer and lyricist Stephen Sondheim (1930-2021) made his Broadway debut with West Side Story in 1957 at the age of twenty-seven. Along his remarkable and wide-ranging career spanning more than six decades, he accumulated accolades that include eight Tony Awards, an Academy Award, eight Grammy Awards, six Laurence Olivier Awards, a Pulitzer Prize, the Kennedy Center Honors, and a Presidential Medal of Freedom. Sondheim redefined musical theater with his groundbreaking work, combining words and music in ways that are by turns challenging, moving, witty, profound, and never less than exhilarating.

This volume includes a selection of lyrics from across his career, drawn from shows including West Side Story, Gypsy, Company, Follies, A Little Night Music, Sweeney Todd, Sunday in the Park with George, Into the Woods, and more, including:

• “Somewhere” from West Side Story
• “Momma’s Talkin’ Soft” from Gypsy
• “A Hero is Coming” from Anyone Can Whistle
• “Someone Like You” from Do I Hear A Waltz
• “Being Alive” from Company
• “The Road You Didn’t Take” from Follies
• “Send in the Clowns” from A Little Night Music
• “Not While I’m Around” from Sweeney Todd
• “Sunday” from Sunday in the Park with George
• “Children Will Listen” from Into the Woods
The result is a delightful pocket-sized treasury of the very best of Sondheim.
Everyman's Library pursues the highest production standards, printing on acid-free cream-colored paper, with full-cloth cases with two-color foil stamping, decorative endpapers, silk ribbon markers, European-style half-round spines, and a full-color illustrated jacket.

About the Author

STEPHEN SONDHEIM wrote award-winning music and lyrics for theater, film, and television. He is the author of Finishing the Hat: Collected Lyrics (1954-1981) and Look, I Made a Hat: Collected Lyrics (1981-2011). He is also the coauthor of the film The Last of Sheila and the play Getting Away with Murder. Sondheim was on the council of the Dramatists Guild of America, having served as its president from 1973 to 1981. He lived in New York City. He died in 2021.

RUSSELL PERREAULT was the executive director of publicity and social media for Penguin Random House's Vintage Anchor imprint and for the Everyman’s Library series of hardcover classics at Alfred A. Knopf. He died in 2019.

PETER GETHERS is a novelist, publisher, and screenwriter, and author of the bestseller The Cat Who Went to Paris. Under the pseudonym Russell Andrews, he has written the bestselling thrillers Gideon and Icarus. He lives in New York City, Sag Harbor, and Sicily.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781101908167
ISBN-10: 1101908165
Publisher: Everyman's Library
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2020
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Everyman's Library Pocket Poets Series