Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes (Paperback)

Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes Cover Image
By Hena Khan, Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator)
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
DIESEL, A Bookstore in Del Mar
On hand as of Sep 22 2:43am
(KIDS RELIGION)

Description


Magnificently capturing the shapes of Islam, this acclaimed book that inspired curiosity and conversations about world religions and cultures is now available in paperback.

From a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes-and traditions—of the Muslim world. With stunning illustrations, a rhyming read-aloud text, and strong backmatter, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets will inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, and is equally at home in a classroom reading circle as it is being read to a child on a parent's lap.

• A BOOK ABOUT MUSLIM CULTURE, CREATED BY MUSLIMS: There is a desperate need for books about diverse cultures, created by people originating from that culture, including books about Islam and contemporary Muslim life. Both the writer and illustrator identify as Muslim: The illustrator is Iranian and lives in London, while the writer is Pakistani American and lives in Rockville, Maryland.
• COMPELLING AUTHOR: Hena Khan is a dynamic, charismatic speaker, who does 40 school, community center, and mosque visits a year, and regularly sells out spaces that hold 300+ people. She is active in her local Muslim community as well as the larger Muslim writing community, regularly speaking on panels and attending conferences.
• AWARD-WINNING ILLUSTRATOR: Mehrdokht Amini received the 2016 Children's Africana Book Award for her book Chicken in the Kitchen and has been nominated for the prestigious Kate Greenaway medal.
• AN EFFECTIVE WAY TO COUNTER ANTI-MUSLIM BULLYING: There is nothing like reading books to understand another culture and increase understanding and empathy.

Perfect for:

• Teachers and librarians
• Families looking for books that reflect their faith and identity
• Families who want to introduce Islam or other cultures to children
• Fans of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns, Night of the Moon, and/or Hena Khan and Mehrdokht Amini's other publishing
• Anyone looking for #ownvoices and #WNDB

About the Author


Hena Khan is the author of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns: A Muslim Book of Colors, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes, Night of the Moon: A Muslim Holiday Story, Like the Moon Loves the Sky, and other books for children. Hena is a native of Rockville, Maryland, where she lives with her husband and their two sons. You can learn more about her at www.henakhan.com.

Mehrdokht Amini is an Iranian-born children's book illustrator. She has been nominated for a Kate Greenaway Medal and been invited to participate in the prestigious Biennial of Illustrations Bratislava. She lives in the United Kingdom.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452182742
ISBN-10: 1452182744
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: March 9th, 2021
Pages: 36
Language: English