The Modern Caravan: Stories of Love, Beauty, and Adventure on the Open Road (Hardcover)

The Modern Caravan: Stories of Love, Beauty, and Adventure on the Open Road By Kate Oliver Cover Image
$27.50
On Our Shelves Now
DIESEL, A Bookstore in Brentwood
On hand as of Nov 25 7:21am
(TRAVEL LITERATURE)

Description


A gorgeous book by celebrated Airstream builder and designer Kate Oliver that celebrates travel, adventure, and beautifully styled rolling homes.

The Modern Caravan is a warm invitation into rolling homes designed for life on the open road.

Brimming with evocative storytelling and hundreds of photographs showcasing modern living space and stunning landscapes, this book features more than 35 stories from solo travelers, couples, and families who traded the comforts of a rooted life for ever-changing vistas and eye-opening experiences.

Readers will meet a family exploring Australia in a cozy vintage camper filled with plants and natural wood finishes; a young couple designing a modern trailer inspired by the colors and textures of the high desert; and a couple who renovated their chic Airstream with green velvet seating, floral wallpaper, and herringbone wood floors.

Balancing style with function, each carefully crafted tiny home is the result of long-held dreams, ingenuity, and imagination.

EXPERT AUTHOR: Kate Oliver is a celebrated Airstream builder and designer. Her work has been profiled in Dwell, Remodelista, Domino, Apartment Therapy, and Design*Sponge, among others. Here she draws on her experience as a designer, builder, storyteller, and photographer to create a one-of-a-kind book full of wanderlust and inspiration—the ultimate guide to beautiful small-space living.

SPEAKS TO WANDERLUST AND BOHEMIAN LIVING: For anyone eager for experiences that offer an escape into a world of simple pleasures and exploration, this gorgeous volume filled with travel photography, engaging stories, and practical tips holds endless appeal.

BEAUTIFUL GIFT: Perfect gift for anyone who loves road trips, outdoor adventure, or interior design. A thoughtful present to pair with any adventure accessory or décor object—a destination road guide, a flannel shirt, a ceramic bowl, or a beautiful blanket. The eye-catching package will add beauty whether displayed on a coffee table or love shack bookshelf.

 

Perfect for:
  • Interior design enthusiasts, armchair travelers, and anyone who dreams of a life of adventure
  • People interested in travel and alternative living spaces
  • Minimalists and those who practice hygge
  • Weekend adventurers and road trippers
  • Followers of the #vanlife movement
  • Fans of Tin Can Homestead, Cabin Porn, The New Bohemians, and The Tiny Mess cookbook

About the Author


Kate Oliver is a designer, writer, and photographer. She lived on the road with her wife and daughter for four years in a vintage Airstream, and is now renovating a small house and studio in the woods. She and her wife are the founders of The Modern Caravan, a company that builds and inspires caravan renovations. Together, they have converted many caravans into beautiful, functional rolling homes.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781452183275
ISBN-10: 1452183279
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: March 1st, 2022
Pages: 224
Language: English