Dragonflies: Fiction by Chinese Women in the Twentieth Century (Cornell East Asia Series #115) (Paperback)

Dragonflies: Fiction by Chinese Women in the Twentieth Century (Cornell East Asia Series #115) By Shu-Ning Sciban (Editor), Fred Edwards (Editor) Cover Image
By Shu-Ning Sciban (Editor), Fred Edwards (Editor)
Email or call for price


Dragonflies is an anthology containing twelve selections ranging from short stories to novellas, and spans the century from the May Fourth Movement to the 1990s. The eleven authors represented are Ling Shuhua, Bing Xin, Zhang Ailing, Wei Junyi, Kang Yunwei, Ping Lu, Liao Huiying, Chi Li, Jiang Zidan, Wang Anyi, and Xi Xi. Rather than focusing on revolutionary or heroic role-models, the selected works portray women struggling to deal with the conflicting demands of tradition and modernity in a rapidly changing society. The most recent story in the collection, Wang Anyi's coolly analytical but heartbreaking "Sisters" (1996), illustrates the persistence of traditional social norms, while Jiang Zidan's "Waiting for Dusk" (1990) depicts a woman oppressed by nature itself. The introductory essay by Shu-ning Sciban traces the evolution of fiction by women writers in mainland China, Taiwan and Hong Kong during the twentieth century. Dragonflies will appeal to readers with an interest in modern China, Chinese literature and gender studies.

About the Author

Shu Ning Sciban received her Ph.D in Chinese literature from the University of Toronto, and currently is an assistant professor at the University of Calgary. Her ongoing research includes contemporary fiction by Chinese women and an English translation anthology of Wang Wenxing's short stories and essays, co edited with Fred Edwards. Fred Edwards majored in Chinese Studies at the University of Toronto. He currently is a copy editor at The Toronto Star.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781885445155
ISBN-10: 1885445156
Publisher: Cornell East Asia Series
Publication Date: March 31st, 2010
Pages: 240
Language: English
Series: Cornell East Asia Series