Heaven (Kobo eBook)

Heaven By Mieko Kawakami, Sam Bett, David Boyd Cover Image
$14.99
Available Now

Description


TARGET CONSUMER

  • Fans of Kawakami’s Breasts and Eggs
  • Readers of the best contemporary Japanese fiction: Haruki Murakami, Yoko Ogawa, Yoko Tawada, etc.
  • The stories of working-class women are often at the center of Kawakami’s novels, as such she is also reminiscent of authors like Lucia Berlin, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Joy Williams, George Saunders
  • Blurbs solicited from Porochista Khakpour, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Kali Fajardo Anstine, Katie Kitamura, John Freeman, Rivka Galchen

KEY SELLING POINTS

  • Europa’s lead title of the season.
  • Freelance Publicist for press reviews, features, interviews, influencer campaign
  • A third Kawakami novel, The Night Belongs to Lovers, coming fall 2021. Mieko Kawakami is a star on the Europa list and an author we’re committed to growing and breaking out to a large readership.
  • Major marketing, publicity, social media, bookseller outreach campaigns
  • The media loves Mieko Kawakami. Several long features appeared around publication of Breasts and Eggs in national monthlies, women’s magazines, etc.
  • With humor, heart, and a grain of skepticism, Kawakami deals with women characters in relation to the body, class, society, sex, relationships, misogyny, work; Entertainment Weekly dubbed Breasts and Eggs a “feminist masterwork.”
  • Heaven is a poignant coming-of-age tale of friendship and resilience
  • Strong adult-YA crossover potential (characters are 14)
  • Devoted Kawakami fans include: Porochista Khakpour, Rowan Hisayo Buchanan, Kali Fajardo Anstine, Katie Kitamura, John Freeman.